Amy’s Victoria Sponge

After using loads of Victoria Sponge recipes with varying levels of success, I’ve put together one that works for me. It’s a mix of Mary Berry, my Mum and a few bits I’ve discovered along the way.

 

Mary-Berry-Victoria-sponge-15k

Ingredients

  • 4 medium eggs
  • 225g/8oz caster sugar
  • 225g/8oz self raising flour
  • 2 level tsp baking powder
  • 225g/8oz baking spread, margarine or butter. I tend to get the best results using Stork.
  • Jam, butter (or spread) and icing sugar for the filling.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees/gas mark 6.
  2. Grease and line 2 x 20cm/8in sandwich tins.
  3. Add the butter & sugar and mix together until smooth.
  4. Add the flour and baking powder to the mix, and stir. Then, add the eggs and stir in until well combined – the mixture should be smooth and plop off a spoon easily!
  5. Add a dash of vanilla extract and stir through.
  6. Divide the mixture evenly between the tins: this doesn’t need to be exact, but you can weigh the filled tins if you want to check. Use a spatula to remove all of the mixture from the bowl and gently smooth the surface of the cakes. Little tip- if you run the spatula under hot water before using , it will stop the mixture sticking and you will get an even top.
  7. (optional) Eat remaining cake mixture.
  8. Place the tins on the middle shelf of the oven and bake for 25 minutes. I’m a nightmare for wanting to open the door to check, but don’t, turn the light on the oven and peer through.
  9. The cakes are done when they’re golden-brown and coming away from the edge of the tins. Press them gently to check – they should be springy to the touch. I stick a cake tester (or a chopstick!) in the middle- and if it comes out clean- it’s done. Remove them from the oven and set aside to cool in their tins for five minutes.
  10. After five minutes transfer to a cooling rack, or a plate. If you’re going to use a plate put a sheet of greaseproof  paper underneath to stop the bottom going soggy.
  11. In the mean time, start making your filling. I always tend to go for the traditional combination of butter cream and jam, but you can do anything you fancy really.
  12. I find  butter cream recipes don’t tend to work for me, so I tend to add the icing sugar to the butter, and mix together by sight and taste. I start off with a big tablespoon of butter and add the sugar accordingly.
  13. Once the cakes are cool to the touch, slather the top with loads of jam. I recommend traditional strawberry. I tried this with blueberry jam once, and it was amazing. Unfortunately, it is not that easy to get hold of- I pick up mine when I go to Ikea. (Let me know if there’s anywhere else that sells it!)
  14. Spread the butter cream on the other cake and sandwich together and dust with icing sugar.
  15. Cut a big slice and enjoy!

A x

 

Leave a comment